Wild Edible Plants - Central California - Sierras

Discussion in 'General Food and Foraging Discussion' started by vja4Him, Nov 20, 2010.

1. vja4Him

vja4Him Survivalist Noob

Does anyone know of articles/books on wild edible plant in Central California and the Sierras?

2. iouJC

iouJC MAGIC Bullet

WOO HOOO! One of my FAVORITE topics!!
    I am no where near Cali, but these websites will help you no matter wherw you are.
    I started learning about wild plants about 10 years ago. My DH was 3/4's Cherokee, and he taught me the basics, but then he died (the dirty rat!!) and I had to go it alone. Here are some of the best sites I have found.

This one is basic. Once you have learned what it has to say (get the book if you can) and digested the information, you are on the way to "looking with different eyes."
    Learning to Identify Plants by Families. An article by Thomas J. Elpel, author of Botany in a Day.

This one is useful in medicinal plants and it is great because it tells you the chemical properties of the palnts and what they are used for. You need to follow the tab marked Herbal Profiles:
    Purple Sage Medicinal Herbs

This one is alot of fun, but also contains a great deal of information:
    Plants

This one is also fun, but very useful. Again, follow the plant links, (ie. Noteworthy Plants, Botany, etc.:
    Wayne's Word Noteworthy Plants

Here's another:
    Foraging Pictures, Photos, Wild Edible Plants & Mushroom Images

There are also Field Guides to different parts of the country. Those are invaluable.
    REMEMBER!!!! Do NOT