Which laying hens are the best producers?

Discussion in 'Hunting & Fishing' started by wvangel1960, Jun 8, 2010.

1. wvangel1960

wvangel1960 Member

I am just starting out raising chickens, I have the pen ready and am wondering if any one has had better luck with a certain type of chicken. I have read up on the subject like keeping them calm and there food sources, just wanted to see if there is a better breed than others to start out with, we have a large family and we eat a good many eggs,plus baking so how many chickens should I start out with?:)

2. NaeKid

NaeKid YourAdministrator, eh?

There is a great website to get you started with: Egg Laying Chickens for Fun & Profit

For a small yard with chickens in the city, you need to make sure that your neighbors don't mind a small flock (probably keep it under 5 chickens total). If you are on an acreage and you only want to feed your family - I probably wouldn't go more than a dozen chickens.

Depending on the age of the chicken and breed, you can expect upto 2 eggs per chicken per day with some days no eggs being laid and other days only one being laid.

The first "year" of a chickens productive time (from about 6 months old) will have the greatest number of eggs laid and it will slowly decline till they are about 6 years old.

When you look to buy your chickens, because of breeding, you will need to decide if you want egg producers or meat producers. Both styles of breeds can be used either way, but, you will be happier with the eggs produced by the egg-producers and the meat by the meat-chickens.

One of the oldest and best sources for chickens (that I found) can be found online at: McMurray Hatchery

On their site, you will be able to learn more about the birds and can go over all the choices.

3. Homestead Gal

Homestead Gal Proverbs31Woman

Homestead Chickens