When to Bug Out?

Discussion in 'General Preparedness Discussion' started by shamgar57, May 30, 2009.

1. shamgar57

shamgar57 Guest

I'm a newbie on the board. I was just wondering from some of the vets what you would suggest as early warning signs before bugging out. I have a wife and three small children and the safe location would be a fourteen hour drive.

Things seem to be picking up and was just curious on some of your thoughts.

Thanks in advance.

2. NaeKid

NaeKid YourAdministrator, eh?

Keep your radio on - or - better yet, have a police-band radio so that you can hear reports earlier than the rest of the population. Have a weather-radio handy that puts out weather-warnings.

Bugging Out can mean all kinds of different things.

If you are at work - it means getting home as fast as humanly possible to take care of whatever needs to be taken care of.

If you are at home - it means getting everything together and getting out of dodge ..

3. Canadian

Canadian Well-Known Member

Listen to the news. That'll take care of most of it.

4. dukman

dukman Greenhorn

It really depends on WHY you are bugging out. Natural Disaster? Most natural disasters don't require bugging out, they require bugging in. Hurricanes are a different story. Just keep watching the news about any incoming tropical storms.

If you are worried about a attack from the skies or a dirty bomb, keep the radio on. When you first here even the tiniest of stories about something near your town, start calling friends to have someone check it out, either via internet or another phone-a-friend.