Wheat pennies

Discussion in 'General Chit-Chat' started by *Andi, Jan 11, 2010.

1. *Andi

*Andi Supporting Member

It is funny that you can judge things by a penny... But my hubby has done so ...

I collect wheat pennies, I've done this ... well ... as long as I can remember. When I work as a cashier I found a few here and there ... about 12 or 15 a year ... but now 'all of a sudden' I'm finding wheat pennies each time I turn around.:D or :(

I have found 12 wheat pennies in the last few days. Hubby thinks this is a sign of the times ... people are hurting and digging into very old piggy banks, l must agree ... somerthing is going on !!!

My question would be 'how my people see the signs?'

2. greaseman

greaseman Well-Known Member

Here's a little note of interest. The local coin shop here will buy your wheat pennies for .02cents. it's the value of the copper. I think any pre 1982 penny is also mostly copper.

Next interesting point. You might want to start saving nickels. Current melt value--nickel is worth more than a nickel. The content of the nickel is 75% copper, 25% nickel. metal prices are on the rise, and soon enough, I expect the government will stop making them, as they will be to expensive to make. So, go to the bank, buy some nickels, and hold on to them. Cheap investment, and it'll always be worth at least a nickel.

I do not support coin melting, but in the future, if hard times truly hit, I don' think many people will be worried about getting caught melting coins--do you??

Last edited: Jan 11, 2010

3. UncleJoe

UncleJoe Well-Known Member

I don't think they will stop making them. The metal composition will just change like the penny did to something cheap, like zinc with a nickel flashing.
    I've started asking for rolled nickels when I go to the bank to cash a check, usually $10.00 at a time.

4. greaseman