What have you put up so far this year>>

Discussion in 'General Food and Foraging Discussion' started by CVORNurse, Jul 6, 2009.

1. CVORNurse

CVORNurse Well-Known Member

This is my first time in years to have a garden and put things up. I am sure I will be shamed by what some of you have preserved so far this year, but here is my list to date

37 pints of tomato quarters canned, another quart in the freezer
    6 pints Lime Pickles - used the recipe from the Mrs Wages Pickling Lime. DH already ate an entire pint, and gave 2 away to his secretary and boss to "show off" what his wife did.
    6 half pints of pickled hot pepper rings
    10 pints today of sweet pickle slices made with Splenda to combat DH's diabetic sweet tooth- remember he consumed the entire pint of lime pickles with minimal help from the rest of us.

Tomorrow I plan to cook down tomatoes into a thicker stewed tomato type product with bell pepper and onions. Don't know how much I will end up with from that.
    We planted more summer squash today, as well as some bush acorn squash.

So what have you done so far?

2. Expeditioner

Expeditioner Well-Known Member

50 quarts of green beans
    40 quarts of tomatoes
    20 pints of pepper medley
    20 quarts of peaches
    20 quarts of blackberry preserves

The canning was done by my wife. I also have 18 lbs of venison, bison, and beef jerky ready. The rest we supplement with store bought food stuffs, freeze dried, mre's, and garden.

Last edited: Jul 7, 2009

3. OldFashionedMama

OldFashionedMama Partyin' like it's 1699

*hangs head in shame*

30 half pints of strawberry jam