What disaster are you preparing for?

Discussion in 'General Preparedness Discussion' started by roaringaslan, Apr 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. roaringaslan

roaringaslan Member

Personally, I worry most about a new ice age beginning (people think that it will be a very gradual transition, but the research doesn't support that - look at the little ice age for instance from around 1400-1850ish). If this were to happen I believe that much of the worlds population would starve and die off. But first would be a total breakdown in civilization. I think that there would be desperate people willing to do anything to survive. In which case we would need to be armed, have food supplies for an extended period of time, and have the knowledge necessary to adapt and survive in our new environment when the supplies run out! But back to that coming Ice Age, I was an anthropology student in college, and dabbled in the earth sciences. We are overdue for one. Well, technically we are in one, but in the warm phase of an Ice Age. Check out this site:

Ice Age Now

It has lots of links to articles and research on the subject (if you're interested). My action plan includes building a very large year-round green house with cold sinks in it...to hopefully extend my growing season as much as possible. I also may have to consider moving south realistically...but hope that is not necessary. I am building up my library of books on subjects like medicinal herbs, gardening, alternative homes, plants (what's safe to eat and what isn't? I am studying what plants can be gathered from nature for food, I know that there are tons of them that we aren't utilizing - I just need to familiarize myself with them). My husband is the one with the interest in hunting, so he'll be in charge of the meat. I think we need to get bows and arrows as opposed to guns, seems easier to maintain than having to find ammo. And of course, building up my stockpile of supplies...