Prepared Society Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife and I have been preparing for a long time (20 years). During this time it has been for general peace of mind, with no urgency or reason. Today we are more committed. This commitment is not because I think the world is coming to an end. But because of Climate Change, no not AGW but Global Cooling and the resulting crop failures. I do not want to start a thread on AGW; we have plenty out there already, so let’s not get off the subject. But for the last two years we have been having problems with food production, from cool/wet springs and early falls in Canada to wet fields at harvest time the US. The world has gotten complacent with the abundant food production and uses almost 100%. What are we going to do if production falls by 10% to 20%? It’s a good time to stock up.

·
YourAdministrator, eh?
8,000 Posts

·
YourAdministrator, eh?
8,000 Posts

·
Registered
348 Posts
In terms of long-term preparation, my biggest concern at the moment is a Peak Oil scenario. It is definately going to happen eventually. There is no way around it. We simply depend too much on oil. And we have been given 2 great examples of how a limit on supply can work against us (1973, the present).

Without a steady supply of oil, harvesting food will become prohibitively expensive. Transporting that food to your local supermarket will be too expensive. Those millions of people who need to drive for a couple hours to and from work every day will be out of the job.

And then there are the widely used products that are petrochemical based. Anything made of plastic, various medicines, and even the asphalt we use to make our roads. Of course, without the equipment to lay the asphalt down, it wouldn't much matter anyway.

·
Registered
349 Posts