We did just fine.

Discussion in 'General Preparedness Discussion' started by Jason, Feb 12, 2010.

1. Jason

Jason I am a little teapot

I wanted to post a critique of my family's performance during the big blizzard. I'm new to the whole prepper thing and we don't have months and months of food in place and raw survival experience like many of you do but I honestly feel that we did very well overall.

THINGS WE DID WELL

-My wife, son and I live in what used to be my grandparents' house and the hub of our dairy farm operation. The dairy cows are gone, but when we had them my dad and grandfather bought a 15KW tractor PTO driven generator and the switchbox to be installed at the electric pole so that all you do is flip the switch, plug in the generator, and you can safely generate your own power. We used it to milk in the past; this week it kept our house running normally. The tractor only had to run at about 1100 RPM's because of the 1000RPM PTO so we used about 10 gallons of diesel a day. Not a long term solution, but very reasonable for this situation.

-My 4x4 truck's gas tank was better than 3/4 full when the snow came. We ran 3 unplanned "rescue missions" last Saturday and I used most of my gas, but never had to stop for more. 1)My aunt's ~90 year old father was home alone with no power or heat. We got him to my aunt/uncle's house so that he could share the space heater and not be alone. 2)Neighbor's truck was stuck in the snow and we pulled him free with the tractor and assisted with my truck. 3) The biggie. Around 5PM I finally got in the house just in time to see my 18 month old son sieze. Ran him to a local hospital, then Children's Hosp in Pittsburgh. Turns out it was a febrile seizure, which is brought on by rapid onset of fever. He's fine-had a virus. But we got him where he needed to be with no trouble, over bad highway conditions.