Prepared Society Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Reverend Coot
3,848 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, anybody given any thoughts on washin clothes in a situation?

I was thinking bout one a these:

Would be handy in the motorhome an if ya needed to do some clothe's in a emergency. Either this er a wash board, ain't sure I can get momma to do the washboard thing.

We got a creek real close ta the house, so as long as the water ain't muddy, that could be used fer wash water. The way the sales pitch reads, sounds like they would work perty good. Seen some in RV mags to, so just wondered what everbody thought or what yall plan on doin.

·
The wanderer
4,350 Posts
Done thought of that ourselves! MMM and I have been doing laundry this way, full time, for 7 years.

That's a hand-cranked wringer, too.

·
I sold my soul to The_Blob. He had candy...
1,799 Posts
On another site one lady had a 5 gallon bucket with a new plunger through the lid for an agitator then she used an industrial mop wringer to squeeze out as much water as she could. Just another thought.

·
I invented the internet. :rofl:
3,698 Posts
My wife posted the picture of how we do it here. One thing we learned right away was the value of a wringer. There're lots of ways to wash clothes but wringing the water out by hand is slow, tedious and A LOT OF WORK. It's very hard on your hands. Especially with jeans.

We've been known to put our clothes in a barrel half full of water and soap and drive into town (seven miles). Dump the wash water and refill with rinse water and drive home again. The clothes are clean and rinsed by the time we get home. Of course we don't do it just to wash clothes but if we need to go in anyway ... :D

If you're just looking at washing a couple things at a time like keeping current on the wash when camping the unit pictured will probably do fine.

Regarding washboards ... you're better off with a flat surface to lay the clothes on then work them over with soap and a scrub brush.

·