Teach what u can

Discussion in 'General Preparedness Discussion' started by RoadRash, Oct 20, 2010.

1. RoadRash

RoadRash Member

I can be a male chauvenist pig !!!!
    Loading trailer I DO weight dissplacement . Starpping down , hooking up trailer. Drive with trailer hooked up me backing up trailer me.

Now take this to any other area that may require survival ? Starting a fire hunting shooting fishing gutting an animal , creating safe water, Cooking sewing , ETC ( yes I sew :sssh: wife refuses to )
    Who else in family or group can do these thing if something was to happen to u????

Food for thought

2. lotsoflead

lotsoflead Well-Known Member

better get your wife on board and teach her how to sew.

3. Clarice

Clarice Well-Known Member

We are blessed, as we both can do all the things you described. True my SO is better at some than I. But then I am better at some than he. I fall short in accurate shooting so I use a shotgun, I am not good at backing a trailer, but I will eventually get it done. My hubby is not comfortable with sewing but he can do it. We both are good cooks and gardeners.

4. ZoomZoom

ZoomZoom Rookie Prepper

Our family has so far been following more traditional responsibilities.

Mrs. Zoom and my daughter are the primaries for cooking, sewing and similar. This is their choice.

My 9-year-old son is my protege (or as I call him, my "Mini-me"). Yesterday was a somewhat normal day. While I did some of my chores where he couldn't participate (e.g. running the rototiller behind the tractor), he:
    Used his real, 18" machete and cleared some overgrowth.
    Practiced his archery.
    Went hunting in the woods for small game.

Later, we processed firewood together. He drove the RTV with firewood laden trailer in tow to the wood shed and we split/stacked it together.

Gardening, canning and such we do as a family.

5. ditzyjan56

ditzyjan56 Well-Known Member

What can we do