Stop Smoking Anyone ?

Discussion in 'General Chit-Chat' started by Al-Thi'b, Oct 17, 2010.

1. Al-Thi'b

Al-Thi'b مسلم Member

I'm 26, will soon be 27 and I've been smoking since roughly 18 years of age. I am really, REALLY wanting to quit by or before 30 especially with my health in the shape it is. My question or questions I should say IS:
    Anyone here successfully quite smoking and if so what product did you use?
    OTC(over the counter) or prescription?
    Side-effects and how long did they last if any?
    Most importantly how long did it take you and how long had you been smoking prior?

Thanks in advance for any helpful information guys.:)

2. HarleyRider

HarleyRider Comic Relief Member

I quit smoking cold turkey and was smoke free for 22 years. Then came the divorce, and like an idiot I started smoking again. Have since remarried, to a smoker. I am seriously thinking about quitting again... cold turkey, just like the last time. :eek:

3. The_Blob

The_Blob performing monkey

the only people I know personally to have successfully 'kicked the habit' were ones that did it 'cold turkey', but also had family & friends that supported their decision.

4. backlash

backlash Well-Known Member

I smoked from about 12 till I was in my 30s. I did stop for a few years but started smoking cigars and then back to cigarettes.
    I finally quit for good about 15 years ago.
    Best thing I ever did.
    I used the patches for about 2 weeks and then just made up my mind that I was going to stop.
    Trashed the rest of the 30 day prescription and quit cold turkey.
    If you really want to stop then you can.
    If you don't really want to then you won't. I think it's a simple as that.
    I wish you luck.
    When you do kick the habit you will never regret the effort it takes.

Last edited: Oct 18, 2010
  5. sailaway

sailaway Well-Known Member

I quit alcohal and other drugs one day at a time over 25 years ago. 12 step programs exhist for smoking addiction also.