Prepared Society Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I tarnsplanted some yellow summer and some acorn about a week ago. I now have a few plants where the leaves are going yellow then turning black and brittle , the same plants also have new green growth in the center of the plant . This is my first time with squash I do not know if this is normal or do I have a problem.

·
Premium Member
1,733 Posts
I tarnsplanted some yellow summer and some acorn about a week ago. I now have a few plants where the leaves are going yellow then turning black and brittle , the same plants also have new green growth in the center of the plant . This is my first time with squash I do not know if this is normal or do I have a problem.
Thats pretty typical for most transplants, they refer it as "transplant shock". Old growth takes a hit and the new growth takes over. Just keep them well watered, and they will be fine. Also hold off on fertilizing them right now, let them settle in, then in a week or so start the fertilizer cycle.

·
I invented the internet. :rofl:
3,698 Posts
A very good book to have on hand is: Rodales Garden Problem Solver by Jeff Ball. It's helped me out many times.

·
Registered
1,897 Posts
It might also be a squash vine borer, a naughty little bug that lays it eggs on the leaves and then a worm hatches and crawls down the stem and burrows into the stem and starts eating..The plant turns yellow starts to droop and then will turn black and die out.
You can check for them by looking for a hole near the base in the stem and with a flashlight at night shine thru the vines and you can see the worm in there- just either poke it with a big needle or you can slice it carefully length wise and dig him out and then cover the sliced area with soil and the plant will sometimes recover.
squash vine borer information and pictures.

·
The wanderer
4,350 Posts