Square foot gardening II Herbs

Discussion in 'Gardening and Agriculture' started by mdprepper, Feb 22, 2010.

1. mdprepper

mdprepper I sold my soul to The_Blob. He had candy...

I would like to grow some herbs for cooking and medicinal purposes. I am very new to medicinal herbs. What would you grow in a very limited space of 8'X3' that gets the afternoon sun?

I would like to grow the plants that I can with the most uses. I will grow peppermint in a container since I know it will spread everywhere. I am planning chives, thyme, rosemary, parsley, lemon balm, oregano. I would also like to try to grow Mullein.

What are your suggestions?

2. *Andi

*Andi Supporting Member

Your list looks like a good start,:2thumb: The ony thing I would add is lavender ...also keep in mind mullein is a biennial and in it's second year wll be a very large plant. (Mine gets 6 ft easy)

Mullein grows wild here and it's all over the place. It may be you could look around and find it just off the road somewhere. :flower:

3. UncleJoe

UncleJoe Well-Known Member

We grow oregano, basil, dill, and parsley indoors in containers all year round. I don't know how large some of the other herbs will get except what *Andi mentioned. You may be able to do all your herbs in containers to leave more room outside for plants that need more space. A very small amount of basil and oregano will go a long way.

4. Woody

Woody Woodchuck

Is there any other space to grow the herbs? The rosemary turns into a bush and really spreads, at least here in NC. Mullein gets large as pointed out and will have a huge ‘dead spot’ around the base as leaves die. Last year I harvested flowers from… 6 or 7 plants and got a quart jar of tincture and a pint jar of dried flowers. The dried were not crumbled or pressed down, just put in the jar after drying. Perhaps you can plant them off to the side of the yard? Finding them wild would be great as long as you know if they have been sprayed or grown in uncontaminated soil.