Spinnig & Weaving

Discussion in 'General Homesteading & Building' started by *Andi, Sep 19, 2010.

1. *Andi

*Andi Supporting Member

So I'm new to spinning ... but getting the hang of it. ;) I started spinning with a spindle and moved up to a wheel as my herd grew. (five years now)

I want to learn how to weave, I did try to card weave :eek: and the lady in the book was right, peace, no kids and no phone calls is needed.:ignore: I did finish a few card weaving projects ... but I'm think maybe a table loom might be better :scratch will see ...

So anyone out there that spins or weaves ????

Last edited: Sep 19, 2010
  2. ZoomZoom

ZoomZoom Rookie Prepper

Not as much as I used to. I've moved away from Tequilia and Gin and now stick to beer. My spins and weaves are now just staggers. :p Sometimes in the winter (when the wives are away) we'll do it on our tractors or ATV's. It looks like this:
    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKy-wuksEfg]YouTube - Crazy Tractor drift on ice EXTREME !!![/ame]

Sorry, I couldn't resist. I saw the thread title and that's the first thing I thought of.

Back on subject, it's not something that I've ever gotten into. I've decided buying a lifetime supply of clothes is the approach I'm going to take.

3. *Andi

*Andi Supporting Member

LOL!!!! Thanks for the smile! :2thumb:

4. The_Blob

The_Blob performing monkey

mennonites down the road have a big loom, I've never seen it in operation, but it's probably pretty cool to watch. I wonder how many looms are for sale (or even free) due to lack of use in the former textile belt? anybody see any on Craigslist?

5. mdprepper

mdprepper I sold my soul to The_Blob. He had candy...

:woohoo::woohoo::woohoo:

A craft that I have never tried and do not have any unfinished projects to admit to!! :D

My Husband will be so proud!!!

6. *Andi

*Andi Supporting Member