So you want to grow some food?

Discussion in 'Gardening and Agriculture' started by Daegnus, Nov 17, 2010.

1. Daegnus

Daegnus Active Member

So you want to grow your own food… This is a basic guide full of resources for the beginner, the complete novice in food growing. I won’t go into too much detail, but will provide links to the necessary resources. Seed catalogues are being sent out for the 2011 growing season, and the best time to get started is now, during the slower months. Winter is a time for planning and knowledge gaining so that you can have the best possible results during your first growing season.

First, a bit about myself: I have a BS in Horticulture, a MS focused in Sustainable Agriculture, I am a Certified Plant Professional in Montana and Idaho, a Master Gardener, a Licensed Pesticide Applicator (which I only use at work), and an avid vegetable and herb grower. I have 15 years worth of experience in the plant industry, and 20 years worth of experience growing food on my own. I have grown produce commercially for 5-star restaurants, and currently manage a garden center.

To get you started with your new garden, we’ll start with a bit of recommended reading. There’s no substitute for hands on experience, but having these books on hand will make your life much easier when you run across situations you are unfamiliar with.

Gardening When it Counts

How to Grow More Vegetables

The New Organic Grower

Four Seasons Harvest

Cold Climate Gardening

These five books will have nearly all the information you need to get started, they have some conflicting information, but most of it is situational, and you will need to judge which methods suit your climate, available space, soil type, available water, and funding.

Let’s get started with soil.