Prepared Society Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
Im new to prepping but ive a survivalist for years. Whats best for long term storage small packets or big packets?.
My thinking is small packets rather than large bags. My reasoning is that once opened it will be used quicker. You will be able to stagger the shelf life better.
the uk survivalist

·
I sold my soul to The_Blob. He had candy...
1,799 Posts
My thoughts are...

If you buy bigger containers, you usually get a better price. If you are stocking things that you will use consistantly than you will go through it quite quickly. If you look at the shelf life of some things they will last 6mths -1yr after opening. You just have to make your decisions on your familys eating patterns.

For my family dry milk, eggs, potatoes and onions would go fast. I would buy LARGE containers of those.But things that the kids will not eat (broccoli) I would buy in smaller containers because we just would not go through that much.

Perhaps others will have a different view of things.

·
Registered
349 Posts
For myself and for bartering I get small size containers. For my family's use, I get larger sizes. For things that don't deteriate quickly like sugar and salt, I get the large containers.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Hi
Im new to prepping but ive a survivalist for years. Whats best for long term storage small packets or big packets?.
My thinking is small packets rather than large bags. My reasoning is that once opened it will be used quicker. You will be able to stagger the shelf life better.
the uk survivalist