Prepared Society Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,922 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Our boy scout fall district camporee is going to be on the theme of map and compass work. Classes in the morining and then a compass course to go to from station to station and practice skills taught at the morning classes. Some of the classes we have come up with are and include the basics: compass reading and use, Finding your pace over a given distance, Taking Bearings, Reading a Topographical map, orienting a map and compas, true north from magnetic north, natural navigation such as finding the North Star. Does any one have any other thoughts? We talked about GPS's at the last meeting, but do not have enough of them. I would be interested in hearing from others who do orienteering, geo cacheing or interested in land navigation.:confused:

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
I'm not good at land navigation. When we'd go into the wilderness my ex airborne buddy "sarge" would navigate. I'd say don't worry so much about GPS. In times of trouble the U.S. government just switches off civilian access to the system anyway. A map and compass with a mirror are all you need.

·
YourAdministrator, eh?
8,000 Posts
Teach them direction finding by watch. What this would be is standing with a watch (needs the hands) and explain to them how you can use the watch to tell direction. First thing you do is get the time. Second, using the watch, you can "put your back to the south" based on the time of day. From there, tell them that their nose points north, their left arm points west and their right arm points east.

By using that skill, they will never get lost.

Here are some articles on the web about it that can get you started:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direction_Finding_Watch

http://www.wilderness-survival.net/chp18.php

http://www.creationtips.com/compass.html

http://www.wwmag.net/directon.htm

·
Registered
482 Posts