No Shampoo/Soap

Discussion in 'Health & Medicine' started by NatLife, Jan 6, 2011.

1. NatLife

NatLife New Member

I've been experimenting with home-based soaps and shampoos for several years. I've also tried to use household items for cleaning agents whenever and where ever possible. Baking Soda, Vinegar, Cream of Tartar, Lime Juice, Honey, Salt, and tons of other things can come in real handy.

For the last year or so, however, I've been researching and trying out the No 'Poo, No Soap thing. I started with a baking soda/vinegar replacement for the carcinogen-laced, industrial detergent known as Regular Shampoo. Eventually, however, I started to transition towards using no shampoo at all.

I absolutely love it! It took a while to transition, but my hair fills healthier than ever (and no, I don't stink!).

I've since researched a lot on the web about what is in shampoo and how others approach the no shampoo method. There is a lot of information out there!

I came across an online community for Shampoo Free: Beyond Shampoo. You can read about the basic stuff. Plus, you can post questions. It seems to be a small, but growing community.

Does anyone have experience with No 'Poo? How about No Soap? Do you use home made or none at all?

2. gypsysue

gypsysue The wanderer

Glad to meet a fellow "no shampoo, no soap" person! :D

I've been shampoo/soap/chemical free for just over a year and feel SO much better.

Even my laundry is soap/chemical free! It took a while to get used to NOT having the chemical-based, artificial scents on my clothes, skin, and hair. In fact, the lack of scent drove me nuts at first, but since we hang our laundry in the sun here in the pine forest where we live, the true natural scents took over as our clothes eventually lost the residual artificial scents.

How can they call that stuff names like "Mountain Fresh"? :eek: Not even close to the real thing!

Anyway, welcome to the forum, NatLife!

:)

3. The_Blob

The_Blob performing monkey