Next big step in my preps

Discussion in 'General Preparedness Discussion' started by willysman, Jan 17, 2011.

1. willysman

willysman Member

Well we just took the next big leap and sold our in town house and bought and moved out to our new homestead/retreat property. It is 150 acres of mixed farm land and bush with barns, large comercial grade garage (I am a mech by trade) and house. Outdoor furnace heating, very good well and septic. I am picking up our 10kw non electronic (gas unfortunately) back up Genny this coming weekend and starting to do the renos and updating it requires to bring it up to our standards of living both now and post SHTF. Let the adventure begin. We have also paid down a lot of our debt now and are going to avoid credit as much as absolutely possible.

2. TNmedicman

TNmedicman NREMT-P

Good step to take. I am about 100 steps before I get there but that is the direction I want to go. Hopefully within the next 5 years I will be there. Good luck with everything.

3. NaeKid

NaeKid YourAdministrator, eh?

I believe that we have a couple of members in your general neck-of-the-woods. I didn't realize that there was that kind of land available around Peta ... good find!

4. willysman

willysman Member

It is very rare to find this kind of property around here. We were lucky to find a private estate sale through local contacts as it was not advertised, and we were actually lucky enough to be the first to contact the person responsible for the estate before it was even fully ready to be sold and were able to work out a deal.

5. mosquitomountainman

mosquitomountainman I invented the internet. :rofl:

Congratulations! Sounds like you're well on your way!

6. ComputerGuy

ComputerGuy Retired Air Force

Very nice Congratulations.

7. PamsPride

PamsPride edirPsmaP

Sounds like you got a good deal! Congrats!

8. goshengirl

goshengirl Supporting Member

Awesome! Congrats!

(thou shall not covet, thou shall not covet... Sigh. not working. :D )