New from the Midwest

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Kimba, Feb 19, 2011.

1. Kimba

Kimba Member

I guess it's not much of an intro if I can't include my real name or my location, lol!! But, I've been lurking for a few weeks and reading the archives so I figured I should post an intro and join the conversation.

I have been prepping for almost 20 years, and hubby and I have been prepping together for 8 years. We live on a farm in the Midwest so we are able to grow/hunt/forage for a lot of our food. My initial efforts were more along the lines of "stocking up" and were mainly motivated by finances (buying in bulk to save $$$). Lately, however, the focus has been more on prepping in all areas and more in anticipation of some kind of disruption.

Looking forward to reading more about what others are doing.

Kimba

2. beericus

beericus Well-Known Member

3. BizzyB

BizzyB BucketHunter

Howdy! :flower:

4. ajsmith

ajsmith Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum:wave:

5. goshengirl

goshengirl Supporting Member

LOL We'll get to know you just fine as Kimba. ;)

Welcome to the boards! :wave:

6. tsrwivey

tsrwivey Supporting Member

Hello & welcome!:wave:

7. UncleJoe

UncleJoe Well-Known Member

:welcome: Share what you know. Ask what you don't. :wave:

8. Jason

Jason I am a little teapot

Welcome Kimba. We have about 250 acres of former dairy farm in PA where now we grow hay, grain, corn, and a few critters. What kind of farm do you have?

9. Kimba

Kimba Member

Thanks everyone for the warm welcome.

Jason, we have 240 acres, of which 130 is tillable. The other 110 acres consist of woods, meadows, creek, and swamp. Thirty of the tillable acres are in hay right now, and the balance in a COB and soybean rotation. We originally planned to grow organic small grains, but we don't have the equipment and it was cost-prohibitive to buy it. Funny thing, our place is also a former dairy farm.