My theory and would it work?

Discussion in 'Politics' started by HozayBuck, Feb 25, 2010.

1. HozayBuck

HozayBuck Well-Known Member

I've bounced these ideas off of a few friends and in truth didn't get much back either way, so I'm tossing it out for yawl, please do think about it and reply, I believe in it but I have limited knowledge as to the impact it would have on the US and World.

I believe that America could only benefit from doing the following.

Close down the 142 military bases we have scattered around the world, this would save billions, We have been the guardians of the free world way too long, we have spent our future providing for the safty of the world, is it our job? Japan and Germany are just two that come to mind, they have become world super powers because America provided for their defense, we spent trillions of dollars doing so while they were able to live the good life and become world players due to not having to spend their money providing for their own defense. And in fact most of the countries where we have our military seem to hate us... so...close the bases.

Bring all our troops home, we have no need to have our troops scattered across the world, that alone would return billions of dollars to the US by the fact of our people being here spending their money in this country, plus, this is the country they should be protecting, let the rest of the world spend their money filling the gap.

Stop all foreign aid, why should we send billions of dollars in aid ( mostly military hardware) to countries that hate us? Egypt is the # 2 recipient of US Aid, of course Israel being first. But our money goes all over the world in attempts to buy good favor . I say stop it except in something cases which would be food not bullets, but not if it's going to be grabbed up by a dictator or warlord .