Prepared Society Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is why I wish my son was being homeschooled, and why this may happend a lot sooner than I had planned.

In sixth grade, they are going over world religions. I just got a look at the powerpoint presentation for Islam, the last religion covered.

I could literally feel my blood pressure rising. I have stated before that I am an adult Sunday school teacher, and have been researching other religions for quite a while now in preparation for a class I am teaching on the subject.

My son is bing taught that Islam is "founded" in Judaism and Christianity. And that Islam is the next step in the progression of religions.

https://docs.google.com/presentatio...ohxNJ8zJEQNHugQXOin19l-L0O4/edit#slide=id.p29

That is his teacher's website. I don't know how to get the powerpoint slides to copy and paste, but I am working on it. You won't believe what you see, especially when what has been taught about the other religions is taken into context. This one powerpoint pres has over 20 slides. That's more information than the entire sections on Hinduism and Buddhism combined.

·
352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Text from the powerpoint slides....

​
Islam→An Abrahamic
Religion
Muslims are strict monotheists.

They believe in the Judeo-
Christian God, which they call

Allah

Muslims believe that the Torah

and the
Bible, like the Qur'an,
is the word of God.

Peoples of the Book​
The Prophetic
Tradition
Adam
Noah
Abraham
Moses
Jesus

Muhammad
The Origins of the
Qur'an

Muhammad received his first
revelation from the angel
Gabriel in the
Cave of Hira in 610.

622 Hijrah Muhammed
flees Mecca for Medina.

The beginning of the
Muslim calendar (
1 A.H.)

Muhammad's revelations were
compiled into the
Qur'an after
his death.

The
Qur'an

Muslims believe it contains the
word of God.

114 suras (chapters).

In the name of Allah,
the compassionate,
the merciful.