My first shot at dehydrating

Discussion in 'General Food and Foraging Discussion' started by Moose33, Apr 9, 2011.

1. Moose33

Moose33 Well-Known Member

Hi everybody,
    I splurged and bought an Excalibur a few weeks ago. I put four pounds of frozen corn in it last night. This morning I had a smidge less than a quart of perfectly dried corn. I rehydrated a teaspoon of it as a test. It tasted great. The only difference was that it didn't quite plump up to its pre dryed size. The plan is to use it in soups, chili and the like. Its perfect for that. :2thumb:

Tonight its two pounds of frozen green beans and one pound of frozen mixed veggies. Hope this batch turns out as well as the first.

I'm moving up to hash browns next.

I'm starting with the easy stuff. I'm sure I'll move up to fresh veggies, if the snow ever melts so I can actually plant something.

Take it easy,
    Moose

2. snappy1

snappy1 Well-Known Member

I'm just getting started too! I have a Nesco-American Harvest and have 4 pounds of frozen green beans to do. Can I use french cut green beans? Anyone know if that would be a problem?

3. OldCootHillbilly

OldCootHillbilly Reverend Coot

Sure, only thin bein, they may fall through the trays.

Ain't hardly a weekend goes by what we don't use ours.

The fresh veggies just require a bit a preppin before ya dry em, but it ain't that much trouble.

4. Sudhira

Sudhira Member

I wanted to practice with dehydrating before I splurged on the Excalibur, so I bought the Nesco Snackmaster ( square ), 8 trays...I tried apples and bananas ( fresh ) which came out great...the frozen stuff fell through the cracks so I have to make mesh thingies for them...but it worked great, it was only $60..

5. *Andi

*Andi Supporting Member

Congrats on the Excalibur! :flower:

Look forward to hearing about the hash browns. ;) (and all the other goodies)

6. Moose33

Hi Andi,