Musicians

Discussion in 'General Chit-Chat' started by UncleJoe, Sep 6, 2010.

1. UncleJoe

UncleJoe Well-Known Member

I was reading OFM's thread on "feeling truly inspired" and it got me curious.

How many musicians do we have here at PS? I've been playing guitar for about 30 years and have dabbled with the piano, violin and flute. Can we put a good band together when we form our community after the SHTF? :D

2. Jason

Jason I am a little teapot

I have a really nice 4 string Washburn electric bass and absolutely no musical talent.

3. hardrock

hardrock Well-Known Member

Picking and singing

UncleJoe, I am a 5 string picker (years ago) and my wife was a music performance major in college. She played double reeds.

Love that bluegrass

4. sailaway

sailaway Well-Known Member

Like Jason my musical talents are limited to the stereo headphones.:eek:

5. Jason

Jason I am a little teapot

I can play CCR's "Down on the corner". That's about it.

6. HarleyRider

HarleyRider Comic Relief Member

I was Concert Master is the orchestra on clarinet. I also play drums. :)

7. UncleJoe

That's one of my favorites! Good bouncy, get people off their seat and moving, song.

hardrock, I would love to learn the banjo but as I watch others, it seems so far removed from the way I play that I've never tried. I'm considering a mandolin but I need to get rid of a few guitars first or Mrs. UJ will have me sleeping in the goat pen. :eek: If I can get it down to 4-5 I think I'll be OK. :rolleyes:

8. gypsysue

gypsysue The wanderer

The usual for me: guitar, piano, and violin, mostly, and a bit of a few others.

MMM plays banjo.

9. Woody

Woody Woodchuck

Clawhammer banjo here. 5 fingers, 5 strings just makes sense. 5 fingers 6 strings means there’ll be music missing.

10. hardrock

hardrock Well-Known Member

UJ,the 5string is very difficult to play correctly(was for me) but can be very rewarding.
    It is a way of life for some people, just like golf.