Preparedsociety.com banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Family Gopher
395 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Started to post this on the 'what's everybody canning today' thread but decided to make a thread of it.

Anyone on board ever CAN your own lard? So as to store it at room temp without it going rancid within a year or so?

I purchased 35 lb [hard frozen] pig fat at an Amish slaughterhouse Saturday for $5; got it iced down and thawing in an ice chest now; was hoping to rend it all in one batch, but now I'm questioning if my Hamilton Beach roaster oven is big enough to handle it all, it would be filled to the brim.

From what I'm reading on the web different places, 250 F lard poured into HOT sterilized jars and sealed immediately will keep 3 yrs easily. I've never done this before, but will be into the thick of it tommorrow or next day.

Anyone have any advice/tips to share?

Attachments

·
Meoww
643 Posts
I have rendered lard but never caned it so if any one knows how bring it on!

·
Premium Member
6,660 Posts
I guess I can lard ... and didn't know it. lol

I use my half gallon mason jars for lard. Pretty much like you said, 250 F lard poured into HOT sterilized jars. They seal and go to the cellar.

I do mine out of doors, on a burner and not in the oven. As a tip ... if your roaster oven will be filled to the brim ... only do half. (IMO ;))

Let us know how it works out. :wave:

·
Texan
5,950 Posts
I have canned bacon fat and canned lard from plastic tubs in quart jars.

I have only canned the bacon fat in 1/2 pint jars, dont have that much around much of the time.

http://www.preparedsociety.com/forum/f36/whats-everybody-canning-today-9781/index46.html#post152389

For the lard in quart jars, I melted it and poured it into quart jars and pressured it at 10psi for an hour. When it cooled, it looked just like Crisco in the jars.

I would expect that canning lard rendered from pork fat trimmings would be the same for canning bacon fat.

·
14 Posts