Keeping beans in original packaging when LT storage?

Discussion in 'General Food and Foraging Discussion' started by goose, Jun 12, 2010.

1. goose

goose Active Member

I'm relatively new to prepping, and have lurked here for a while. I've started accumulating foodstuffs, and right now I'm packaging beans for LT storage.

I've bought them from Aldi; they come in 2-pound bags. I'd really like to store them in those bags, inside Mylar w/ oxygen absorbers. Keeping the original packaging has advantages (for barter, keeping info on the beans right with the beans, etc.).

I tried an experiment: I poked about 60 holes in those bags with an awl, large enough to expect air to circulate, small enough for the beans to stay in the bag.

I then put two of those bags, along w/ an oxygen absorber, into a gallon mylar bag, squeezed out the air as best I could, then sealed them. The Oxy absorber worked; the mylar bag pulled in tight, so enough air is circulating for the oxy absorber to pull out the oxygen--though it took a couple days for this to happen.

Question: Is there any long-term problem (i.e., 20 years plus) w/ storing the beans in the original packaging?

I've looked online to try to learn about the plastic packaging and have so far struck out. I can't tell what type of plastic it is (no recycling symbol on the bag).

And, yes, they won't store space-efficiently as well as loose beans in a 5- or 6-gallon bucket, but I'm willing to accept that penalty in exchange for smaller mylar packages.

2. allen_idaho

allen_idaho Well-Known Member

There is no real problem with keeping the beans in the original packages. Although the whole point is to keep the package airtight to keep moisture out. I don't know if poking a bunch of holes into it is a good idea.

Most prefer to keep them in large glass or plastic tubs mainly to keep bugs from chewing their way in. It also provides plenty of moisture protection to store the beans indefinately.

3. goose

goose Active Member