how much do you can a year?

Discussion in 'General Food and Foraging Discussion' started by Tammy, Oct 9, 2009.

1. Tammy

Tammy Guest

I'm new to canning.I plan on start canning my garden this next year, but i was wondering how much supplies that i should get ready. I would like if yall could reply and tell me about how much you active canners can each year. I know that it varies due to how much your garden produces,but generally most people try to can so much of each type of vegetable. What do yall each try to do? I appreciate hearing from each and everyone of you who gives my post the time. thanks

2. Tammy

Tammy Guest

Also i forgot to ask earlier...What size jars do you can your stuff in. pint or quart? Which is better?

3. bunkerbob

bunkerbob Supporting Member

I can about 20 quarts and 10 pints usually each year, depending on how much we consume, I will can again when the crop, pickles, tomatoes, fruit come ripe. Jar size depends on what size family you have to feed, the wife and I don't need as much at one time so we use the pints for tomatoes, sauce, and jams. Whole fruit is better canned in the quart size. My greenhouse will provide some vegetables up through the winter and saves me the time on canning. Pickles are my forte' and we, family, and neighbors go through them quite quickly. Make sure you follow the steam bath directions carefully when canning non-acid vegetables, I always put a little vinegar in each jar to help. I have a canning pressure cooker for soups and such to almost guaranty sterilization, and make sure you sterilize everything you use in boiling water. I put the jars, ladle, funnel, rings and lids in the boiling water bath before canning.

Last edited: Oct 9, 2009
  4. Tammy

Tammy Guest