How many HAM radio operators on forum

Discussion in 'Communications' started by bunkerbob, Dec 17, 2009.

1. bunkerbob

bunkerbob Supporting Member

How many licensed HAM radio operators do we have on the forum. Just curios. As you can tell I'm a HAM operator, and by the way so is my wife, both Tech class right now. I have been studying for my General license, but have soooo much to do. Here is some of my gear...as a note when I built the house I wired it for 12VDC also, the shack uses that for power. One photo is of my truck radio, another my travel trailer, and my handheld units.
    Remember HAM is a acronym for "Had Alot of Money":2thumb:
    Show some photos of your radio shack.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  2. bunkerbob

Here are some of the 12VDC outlets in the house... if you are going to build plan ahead, also these did not hinder the permit process even here in Calif., probably one of the most strict anywhere.

Attached Files:

3. tyler_kd0bsa

tyler_kd0bsa Well-Known Member

I am a general class operator. One thing you might consider and it's up to your preferences but all my radios have Anderson powerpoles for power connections and I've collected lots of different adapters to go along with them.

4. northernontario

northernontario Well-Known Member

I'm a licensed amateur radio operator in Canada with my "basic" certification. No shack pic's... all my stuff is mobile and handheld.

5. WinOregon

WinOregon Member

Have had my Tech license for a couple of years - KE7PUJ. But don't consider myself a Ham. I only got my ticket because I am active in my city's CERT program. We use 2 meter rigs to communicate between the neighborhood CERT teams and the EOC.

I have a YAESU FT-8800R 2m/440, a YAESU VX-6R tri-bander, and a YAESU FT-1802 2m.

Doubt if I will get my General - Like you say its real expensive and I have two many hobbies now.

Regards WinOregon

6. NaeKid

NaeKid YourAdministrator, eh?