Fruit Trees

Discussion in 'Gardening and Agriculture' started by razorback, Feb 18, 2013.

1. razorback

razorback Well-Known Member

DH planted a small orchard yesterday :D with the help of his folks. I didn't get home until after dark so I didn't get to see what exactly they had done
    =(

Now to wait.....

Did I mention I'm not good at waiting

2. Tribal Warlord Thug

Tribal Warlord Thug Well-Known Member

awesome............we started our orchard last fall.....will be adding about 30 more fruit and nut trees coming this fall after clearing the rest of our southwest corner of the property....
    heres a few apple and pear.....
    [​IMG]

we figure our lil' orchard will be about 1-1 1/2 acres when done...and will be a good area for our beehives to stay cool.
    keep on growin' yer homestead razorback.........we're gonna need to be ahead of those who can't or won't take the time and monetary sacrifice to become self sufficient......talk is cheap, but so is land....;)....for now that is.....

3. *Andi

*Andi Supporting Member

Congrats!

An orchard is a great thing to have and a little on the habit forming side. :p

Best of luck with it.

4. Meerkat

Meerkat Seeking The Truth

Down here its hard to keep them producing.Anna Apples keep blooming then coems a freeze,last year they actually bloomed 3 times.Peaches kicked the bucket after 2nd yr..

We want a greenhouse big enough for small trees.Our plums seem to do ok,some of these old pecan trees would just feed the squirrels.Buy the time we cleared around one side the other side grew back up so we gave up.

5. Tribal Warlord Thug

Tribal Warlord Thug Well-Known Member

when the SHTF givin' up aint gonna be an option Meercat.........:rolleyes:

6. Bobbb

Bobbb Well-Known Member