Fire Retardent Materials

Discussion in 'General Homesteading & Building' started by sailaway, Mar 24, 2011.

1. sailaway

sailaway Well-Known Member

Has anyone considdered incorporating fire retatdent materials into their bug out cabin? I'm thinking about metal roofing and maybe plaster board or metal siding. There seems to be alot on the news lately about wild fires everywhere. Oklahoma, Florida and the usual Santa Anna Winds in California.

A fire research center in South Carolina is running an experiment today. They have built a 1200 sq. ft. house, wood sided and asphalt shingled roof and will be blowing burning embers on it to observe how it ignites.

Fire is one of the issues I have considdered when thinking about the cabin I want to build. One of my major issues for a cabin is something obscure so maybe earth shelter is the way to go.:dunno:

2. ZoomZoom

ZoomZoom Rookie Prepper

I'm a very big fan of HardyPanel or other Hardy products. It's siding material that looks like wood but is concrete based. It won't burn, rot or anything else. I have it on the exterior of all my buildings.

3. NaeKid

NaeKid YourAdministrator, eh?

If you want to be able to live inside the building while a wild-fire is burning outside, you will want to find a way to double-insulate the building - first layer will protect the second layer of insulation from melting / burning.

Making the the outter layer from fire-brick (cinder-block) will create your first layer of insulation from the extreme heat. Windows (normal glass) can melt / explode so you will want to find a way to insulate them from the extreme heat as well or build with glass that is rated fire-proof / fire-resistant like this product from Glassopolis. Run a layer of fire-proof insulation then make the inner wall.