Fairly new to prepping

Discussion in 'General Preparedness Discussion' started by Citizen32908, May 7, 2011.

1. Citizen32908

Citizen32908 New Member

Hi all! I am new to this site and fairly new to prepping. I have some basic emergency outdoor prepared equipment that will go a long way to constructing a BOB. I am trying to get through the mistified view some have on prepping who see it as a world is ending senario. I wish to become prepared for any situation I may come into contact with when it come to survival. I am 21 and I am a college student who works part time. This means I am on a tight budget. But I want to prep for reality. I know the status of this country, I hope for the best but I need to prepare for the worst. I need to prepare so that I may protact those that I love. I am looking for any and all advice that may help me as I truely start.

2. IrritatedWithUS

IrritatedWithUS Well-Known Member

Well you found the right place.
    :welcome:
    Just go through the different categories of the forum and you'll find tons of information.

3. OldCootHillbilly

OldCootHillbilly Reverend Coot

Welcome.

Best thing ta do is sit down an decide what emergency is most likely ta occur first in yalls area. Earthquake, tornado, flood, financial er what have ya.

Then start settin back some food an water. It don't have ta be some a that high priced years supply in a bucket kit lessin yall can afford that. Canned goods keep fer quite a spell as do boxed dry goods.

Gather equipment as ya find it on sale er at flea markets er second hand stores. There be lots a lists here an on the internet as ta what ya can use an need. Put tagether a good first aid kit an learn how ta use it properly.

Read alot. The more ya know about survival the better. Practice, build a fire kit an learn how ta use it. Learn how ta sharpen a knife. Learn ta fish, hunt an trap. Might not be easy in a urban settin, but can still be done.