Experimental Survivor Group TV Show

Discussion in 'General Preparedness Discussion' started by gunny, Oct 25, 2010.

1. gunny

gunny Member

Just tuned in to this TV show. It is an experiment that depicts a group of survivors situated in an urban area after a calamity. It does give one a very good idea of what survivors would have to deal with. The group consists of a doctor, nurse, biologist, computer engineer, maintenance man, contractor who is also a former prison inmate and some others that I may have overlooked.
    These are the exact type of people that I would like to form a group with.
    They all have valuable professions, skills and trades that would be very helpful with all their combined knowledge. What would a group expect to achieve if all were contractors or doctors? I would also like to add a recent war veteran or two who has first hand experience in urban close quarters combat. I am a Nam Vet but with jungle experience. I would only be good if I lived in the Amazon or Everglades and even then that was a very long time ago.

I would like your thoughts and comments.

Gunny

2. SnakeDoc

SnakeDoc Well-Known Member

I would think that they are indeed fortunate to have all of those professions represented. I doubt that most of us will be so lucky. That is why I started taking EMT training this past spring. I will have my advanced EMT com March.

3. The_Blob

The_Blob performing monkey

sounds like the 1st season of The Colony...

4. thunderdan19

thunderdan19 Shoots to Thrill

Yeah, my wife and I watched the whole second season and are now DVR'ing the first one. I like the shows because you can learn from them. However, they completely reinforce to me just how huge a gamechanger firearms are. I wish they had at least some way of simulating them (simunition or paintball) because I think they will have a huge role in a post apocalyptic world.

5. The_Blob

The_Blob performing monkey