Cross pollination

Discussion in 'Gardening and Agriculture' started by frankd4, Jan 28, 2011.

1. frankd4

frankd4 AK4FU

I have my jalapenos to close to my bell peppers and just on that one bell pepper plant I have some of the strangest bell peppers that I have ever seen, is it possible to cross pollinate between plants?

2. IrritatedWithUS

IrritatedWithUS Well-Known Member

LoL, maybe you created a hybrid, oh no! :D

I know I had two different species of spider plants and they cross pollinated and I got some weird looking babies growing.

3. Murph

Murph Member

The cross pollination will happen if your grow out the seeds, not on the fruit of your current plants.

I would guess you didn't really get bellpepper seeds.

4. frankd4

frankd4 AK4FU

They are Bell pepper plants they have born seven or eight great looking Bell peppers then the strange long skinny ones, Please excuse my ignorance this is my first year growing veggies my wife is the gardener in the family she would not let me play in her garden so I started my own, I went big I have forty tomato plant, lettuce, potatoes, jalapenos , Bell peppers and onions for someone just starting I have done ok but I need to learn a lot more.

5. *Andi

*Andi Supporting Member

:congrat: on your first garden ... Sounds like you jumped right in! :2thumb:

I guess I will have to wait a little longer to play in the dirt. (But only a few weeks ;))

6. frankd4

frankd4 AK4FU