Prepared Society Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am totally new to this. I bought a nice Coleman Camper stove several years ago. Only used it once or twice. I went out to my storage shed to see what it needed 'just in case". It has been stolen ( I know who is was, but have no proof). With money being very tight now, I found a used one with three burners at a local thrift store. But it needs work and I don't know where to start. Sorry to sound like a girl (that's what I am, although an old one, ). Any help will be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,897 Posts
Most times all they really need is to have the fuel compartment emptied and filled with good fuel and have the mantles replaced. Pump it up and fire up the new mantles and it should do ok.
My gramps and I pulled one off the bottom of the lake-we could see it on the sunken boat in about 15 feet or so of water but grampa didn't let me swim down, we just hooked it with the big treble hook that grampa had in the fishentackle box(all one word ya know) and we dried it, got new mantles and put good fuel in and it worked really nice. We found out later that it had been on the bottom of the lake for over a year.

·
Registered
595 Posts
Check Garage Sales - Craigslist

I see a dozen fairly new Coleman stoves every year at garage sales ...... $5 to $10 bucks a piece ....... all ready to go ....... sometimes a gallon of fuel thrown in to boot .......

Added note on gas stove/lantern repair and maintenance ........ the pump up plunger piston for tank pressure have a leather or poly material "cup" ..... the leather cups need a regular treatment of oil and the poly will need replacing eventually ........

·
RONSERESURPLUS
210 Posts
Dependinf on what the Old used one costs, it might be worth working on?

Hello all

RON L here