CO2 Detectors

Discussion in 'General Homesteading & Building' started by Zacht, Feb 22, 2009.

1. Zacht

Zacht Guest

I am currently remodeling my new house and am looking around to find some nice smoke detectors. I have been doing a little research and came across First Alert Carbon Monoxide Detectors. I have no experience with these products, and wanted some personal reviews of them. Thanks in advance.

Here's the product for those people to lazy to google it: Carbon Monoxide Detectors

2. vikx

vikx Active Member

I have two types, a 110 plug in and a battery operated. The plug in is a Blackhawk with a readout of CO2 levels and resets every two minutes. It's never gone off but the numbers have gone up a couple of times. The battery operated model is a backup in case the power goes out. Also have several battery smoke alarms. I like to keep them separate-the more alarms the more likely at least a few will work in an emergency. VK

3. RWB214

RWB214 Member

CO2 = Carbon Dioxide
    CO = Carbon Monoxide

Given that CO is heavier than air, I recently asked a fire marshal about the ceiling mounted combination smoke/CO detectors and he said they should be sufficient at detecting any CO in the room, however a better setup would be to have a separate smoke detector on the ceiling and a plug-in CO detector closer to the floor. It is also advisable to use the 120v hard wired smoke detectors (which have been standard in new construction for a few years now) because when one goes off, the all go off. I believe up to 12 can be interconnected and they all have to be the same brand/model for compatibility. You need 14/3 wire between all the units but only 1 of them needs input from the electric panel for them all to work. Also, any smoke detector over 10 years old should be discarded and replaced. Do be aware that many smoke detectors also contain trace amounts of radioactive material.

Last edited: Feb 25, 2009
  4. The_Blob

The_Blob performing monkey