Certified Emergency Responder!

Discussion in 'Health & Medicine' started by Salekdarling, Aug 9, 2011.

1. Salekdarling

Salekdarling Member

I passed my test and I am now CPR and first aid certified! I'm thinking after the Police Academy is over that I will try adding Paramedic to my skills list. I love helping people and would consider it to be a honor to serve my community, be it as a Police Officer, or in the EMS. Plus, it would make for good prepping skills. :p

Any folks on here in EMS? Tell me about your most fulfilling experience in the field.

2. *Andi

*Andi Supporting Member

Congrats!!!

I think I need to up date mine ... :eek:

3. kejmack

kejmack Texas!!!

I'm a EMD and an EMT. My son is an EMT working towards his Paramedic. My other son is an MP in the military and an EMT. Saving someone is always fulfilling. Having a child die on you is the absolute worst!!! You never really get over that.

4. Turtle

Turtle Well-Known Member

Hey, congrats! I am First Responder certified, too; kind of a good feeling, eh?:)

Look in to a local Search and Rescue group; I was talking to an older officer in my department who is also very active in the local SAR unit, and it sounds AWESOME! Lots of usable skills to be learned, a great way to help out the community, and could present some cool opportunities!

5. Dan1966

Dan1966 Survival Doc

I highly recommend the WUMP course through the wilderness medicine institute. I took this course as a physician with trauma training and learned a great deal about treating injuries when advanced care is not available. EMT's and paramedics made up the bulk of the participants and they get WEMT certification.

6. goshengirl

goshengirl Supporting Member

Congratulations! :2thumb:

7. Salekdarling

Salekdarling Member

I will look into it! Thank you for the advice Dan. :2thumb:

8. TNmedicman

TNmedicman NREMT-P