canning question

Discussion in 'Gardening and Agriculture' started by Jaspar, Apr 1, 2011.

1. Jaspar

Jaspar Well-Known Member

I've been canning for a few years now, and rarely reuse the lids. I try to pull them off so they don't bend, but they're usually sealed so freaking tight, it's a failed attempt.

How often can you reuse a mason jar lid (the metal ones with the red rubbery seal?)

Are there alternative methods to canning (mason jars are what my parents/grandparents taught me), or do people just stock up and buy as many lids as they possibly can?

2. PamsPride

PamsPride edirPsmaP

3. Cahri

Cahri Well-Known Member

I stock up , never reuse. We're talking about food safety here. You don't want to wake up with your family dying from food poisoning. Throw them out. recycle , whatever, just don't trust them with your #1 staple, FOOD!

4. Emerald

Emerald Well-Known Member

I never reuse them for canning but I have used them on my dry goods once I have taken them off the product to use it.
    I have also used them to cover a hole in the wall that a mouse chewed. I use them to scrape the guts out of pumpkins for easier carving for Halloween.
    If you take and poke a hole in the lid near the edge and a paint marker and a nice wire you can make a nice plant marker(for those of us who garden).
    Tons of uses for the used ones just make sure that you do what I do and put a big "X" on them so that they don't get used for canning any longer.

I must say tho that I have been careful taking them off and have used my foodsaver to vac-pack jars with the used lids for my dry goods/herbs and I've had really good luck with them holding a seal.

5. *Andi

*Andi Supporting Member

I just stock up ... If I find lids on sale (end of the season), I buy a few extra, alright more than a few :D)

6. Jaspar

Jaspar Well-Known Member

ok, say I stock up, but eventually run out? Is there a way to can w/o the metal lids?

7. Emerald