cake in a jar

Discussion in 'Recipe Share' started by beanpicker, May 26, 2011.

1. beanpicker

beanpicker Well-Known Member

Not sure how to go about posting , this is my first try, so please excusses me if Im wrong,
    I have been a guest for a couple months, reading all I can till late in the night. an I have learned so much but also have said many time , "been there done that."
    I learned to can when I first got married an have canned about everything there was to can. ( or freeze ) . We raise 4 boys on the garden a lot of time selling our extra in order to buy things like peaches an apples.

About 4-5 years ago , the hubby was close to being layed off so we buckled down an payed off all CC , doctors bills , truck payments etc, in other words ' IF it didn't taste good with salt an peper we didn't buy it ' . We were quit blessed for several got layed off but being he was hi man on seniority , well he actually got lots of over time , so every extra dime went into paying off all bills an food storadge in case he did get layed off.

So being a prepper any way I just contuned on, an on ,an on ,an on , till not I'm begininning to question my own sanity .

Ok the reason for joining was I was wondering of any of you ever make the cake in a jar , or heard of it... We prepped extra for Y2K ( thats were my nick name come from for i canned 200 qts of green beans that year an had a total of 934 jars all canned that year, ) plus the store bought stuff.

I would have to dig an see how it was done but from memory . I used wide mouth pints jars , ( cleaned & sterlized ) ) , made the cake up , an baked in oven , when they were done you put lid an ring an let then cool , course they seal as they cool. If memeory serves me right , We liked the spice cake better for it was a moister cake to start with, an I done brownies which was great but the black walnuts turned rancid in a couple months .