buy a new mountain bike?

Discussion in 'Vehicle & Transportation' started by andrearo.662, Apr 15, 2009.

1. andrearo.662

andrearo.662 Guest

I want to start mountain biking and due to this logically I need a new bike. Has anyone suggestions for a appropriate mountain bike? How much is it approximately? Is there any price limit underneath it makes no sense buying? Does it make sense buying a mountain bike second hand due to the fact that I am a beginner? Would be glad if someone can help me. thx

2. Canadian

Canadian Well-Known Member

Buy a good second hand bike or a decent name brand bike and ride it all the time. Second hand bikes are great and bike technology does not change very much from year to year. A lot of rich folks buy them and then they just sit in the garage for a few years. You can get ones that have only been ridden once.

Stolen property and police auctions are a great place to get them. They often go for way less than they are worth. The cops generally don't know what's worth what anyway. You could even buy a whole bunch of well equipped bikes, strip the parts off, and sell the parts and frames separately and make some money. I know a few people who do this. You could buy a bike for $300 and each component on the bike could be worth a few hundred a piece.

The reason not to buy an expensive new one is that you don't know what you like. You need to ride to figure it out. My first bike looked nothing like my final bike. Bikes are great because you can do all kinds of custom stuff to them. My bike ended up tricked out for downtown city riding dodging taxis and jumping off curbs. My first bike was just an ordinary bike and was nowhere near as fast or useful.