Bread Ideas????

Discussion in 'General Food and Foraging Discussion' started by Big B, Dec 2, 2008.

1. Big B

Big B Well-Known Member

I am an accomplished cook and can do most meals without any problems. Sooo, I thought I would make bread, OK?
    Bought the new commercial Kitchen aid mixer and have made about four loaves, they didn't turn out very well.:confused:

I am learning that bread is much more involved that I realized.
    Someone told me bread is more of an art than a recipe.

Any ideas are welcomed and any great recipes would be tried and appreciated.

I just learned that when they say use warm water to start the yeast, they mean warm, really gets it working.

How do you know when to stop beating it with a bread hook, someone said you can do it too much.
    Another lady told me to not rely on the bread hook totally, but to get your hands into it also, it makes better bread.
    Any comments????
    Thanks ahead of time.

2. CVORNurse

CVORNurse Well-Known Member

Oh, man, no advice here. I always make mine by hand. It does tend to dry out quicker than store bread because of no preservatives.

Here is the recipe I have been using: Family Bread I have not tried the low yeast method yet, but would like to some weekend.

You are giving it a chance to rise after the kneading? Not using too hot water that is killing the yeast? Um, cant think of other problems right now, but I am sure some of the more experienced cooks will be along shortly. I have only recently revived the skills I was taught in home economics 20+ years ago. I am itching to try whole wheat bread next. And sourdough.

3. dilligaf

dilligaf Well-Known Member