Book Review - THe Long Ride Home

Discussion in 'Product Reviews' started by DKRinAK, Mar 14, 2012.

1. DKRinAK

DKRinAK As smart as

(http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...mp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B007IKFPX2)

The Long Ride Home (Mosquito Mountain Chronicles) [Kindle Edition] By none other than Gypsysue.

A refreshing read. At a time when so many e-books are full of - well, let's just say not suitable for polite company, I found this book to be a breath of fresh air.

You follow the journey of a woman, no shrinking violet, as she makes her way home after a wide area disaster. Free of vulgarity, cursing and much of what passes for fictional 'literature' these days, I really enjoyed following along on the trip. I have to confess, I love long distance bicycle riding myself, so this just might be a natural for you - if you enjoy cycling as well.

As an author myself, I found Susan's style easy to read, natural, perhaps.

I gave this 4 stars mostly for length...I would have enjoyed a longer journey and tad more detail on the trip home. I rate this suitable for teens who enjoy adventure stories as well.

The book also examines some of the issues one might find after a wide-scale disaster, it's worth the reader taking the time to consider their own situation in such a light...

This is just a cut and paste of my Amazon review.

I enjoy Susan's writing as both easy to read and it's something I wouldn't be afraid to give my (precocious) 8 yo granddaughter for her consumption. So much of what appears on ebooks today is simply not worth reading, for any number of reasons. I mostly object to the base nature of what passes for literature today.

I'm no prude, as a Vet, I think I have herd it all, and in more than one language. But a "dialog" that is mostly foul language is not literature, it is an admission the author has no good ideas.

Susan has done of good job in telling a story that grabs your attention, and keeps to the ending, one that comes too soon, IMO.