Virginia DMV - Facts About Mopeds and Scooters
First, make sure your scooter or moped fits the following criteria:
Has not more than three wheels that are in contact with the road.
Has a seat that is no less than 24 inches in height.
Has a gasoline, electric, or hybrid motor that is less than 50 cubic centimeters (cc) and a maximum speed of less than 30 mph.
If your moped or scooter meets the above definitions you do not need to register it.
Restrictions for Mopeds and Scooters
No moped/scooter may be driven on any highway where the speed limit is faster than 35 mph.
Riders must be at least 16 years of age and obey all rules of the road.
Every driver must carry a form of identification that includes his/her name, address, and date of birth.
It is against the law to operate a moped while using earphones.
If your moped or scooter has an engine displacement of 51 cc or more and the maximum speed is over 35 mph, you are required to obtain a motorcycle endorsement on your driver's license to ride on Virginia highways. You will also be required to title and register it as a motorcycle.
Register it by bringing the following to any DMV customer service center:
A completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration.
Proof of ownership in the form of a title, a manufacturer's certificate or origin, or a Bill of Sale.
Proof of address.
Check, cash or credit card to pay the $10 titling fee.
Remember, laws can vary by locality. Be sure to check other requirements that may be in effect in various cities, towns, counties or states.