Baking with soft white wheat berries

Discussion in 'General Food and Foraging Discussion' started by Country Living, Mar 6, 2011.

1. Country Living

Country Living Supporting Member

I've been grinding hard white wheat berries to make bread for several years. I just got in some soft white wheat berries. Evidently the ground flour from the soft white berries needs extra moisture in the recipes and I just can't figure out the increase.

I tried to make flour tortillas yesterday (it's usually pretty hard to mess up tortillas) and they came out too dry. Any thoughts on how much I should have increased the water?
    9oz flour
    1tsp salt
    1/3 C lard
    1/2 C water
    **I did add 1/2Tbsp of dough enhancer that was not in the recipe.

Does anyone have any suggestions or shall I just keep plugging away until I find the magic ratio?

IDoes anyone have a repeatable methodology on how much to increase the moisture in recipes when using soft white berries in any recipe?

2. Emerald

Emerald Well-Known Member

How did the dough feel in your hands when you made it.. comparable to when you use hard white wheat? There is no magic ratio when it comes to breads and doughs- due to the moisture in the air and the time of year that the wheat was grown and even where it was from. I bake things by how they feel even if I use a recipe. if your tortilla were too dry I would just add a bit more water as I made them.
    My standard tortilla recipe is not done by weight.
    2 1/2 cups flour about 1/3 cup lard but I use milk and water half and half about a full cup with a heaping teaspoon of sea salt dissolved into it... The milk and water should be really warm almost hot.