Are Hybrid Seeds Good For Any Sort Of Storage?

Discussion in 'Gardening and Agriculture' started by neil-v1, Jul 29, 2010.

1. neil-v1

neil-v1 Old Member

Hey, I was at Family Dollar Store the other day and they had packets of veg seeds that were two for a dollar. I am very new to seeds, but I do not think they were open pollinated or heirloom seeds. My question is would it be worth my time to buy them anyway just to vacuum seal them for storage for possible future use? Any help would be great. Thanks.

2. gypsysue

gypsysue The wanderer

Depends what other seeds you have stored. If you don't have any stored and can afford to spend a few dollars, why not store some anyway? Even if you only have hybrids, that gives you one season to grow stuff while you find other gardeners who have open-pollinated or heirloom seed. Then you just have to find something to trade them, to get some of that seed!

In the meanwhile, for the transition, you bought yourself another year of food.

Keep in mind, it takes a lot of "garden" to feed even one person for a year.

3. neil-v1

neil-v1 Old Member

Thank you Sue. You are always a big help.

4. UncleJoe

UncleJoe Well-Known Member

I have both. You can never have too many seeds stashed away. :D

5. lanahi

lanahi Well-Known Member

Usually, if it does not say hybrid, it isn't. Hybrids usually are more expensive because someone spent years and lots of money to develop them and then patent the new variety. Heirlooms cannot be patented unless they are substantially changed from the original, but "heirlooms" can be expensive too just because they are called "heirlooms"! The seeds at the dollar store are probably just generic nonhybrids and just as good. Buy them all at that price!