Anyone here make syrup?

Discussion in 'Recipe Share' started by rwc1969, Mar 3, 2011.

Tags:
  1. rwc1969

rwc1969 Well-Known Member

I gathered my first sap of the season today.

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gr8Uo8L4w_4]YouTube - Maple Syrup Gathering Sap[/ame]

2. NaeKid

NaeKid YourAdministrator, eh?

Not in this neck of the woods. As far as I know, I cannot tap trees for sap and get anything like those out on the eastern side of Canada can ..

3. dustyz

dustyz New Member

Yeah, I've been doing it for the past 3 years here in Kentucky. Our season is over now...

My bucket setup is almost identical to yours. I also use a 10 gallon cooler for storage. Here are a few pics from my homegrown setup.... showing the modified Franklin stovetop, and the results from a few small batches this season. I have fewer than 10 taps total...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 4, 2011
  4. rwc1969

Nice Dusty, but when I clicked on the pic of the stove I got a nasty virus popup.

5. dustyz

dustyz New Member

Do you think imageshack got infected somehow?

My PC is clean. I doubt imageshack would allow virus uploads... lol. Thanks for the heads-up.

6. rwc1969

I don't know, but when I clicked on the link the typical "you have a virus, click here to disinfect" window popped up.

I've had it happen a few times with Image shack.

7. Jason

Jason I am a little teapot

Never made it myself but I love homemade maple syrup, especially on nice fresh biscuits.

8. goshengirl

goshengirl Supporting Member

We don't do it yet, but we want to learn. I'm not sure we have enough sugar maples on our property (we want to get more, but it will take time for them to grow).

9. Emerald

Emerald Well-Known Member