About water?????????

Discussion in 'General Preparedness Discussion' started by anna40, Mar 3, 2010.

1. anna40

anna40 New Member

Im totally new at this and i have a question that may seem rather...stupid. In an emergency do you just quit getting water from your faucet? Would it be because there is no electricity to pump it through the pipes? Or is it that we would get water but it could be contaminated? Also, would purifcation tablets work as well as a water filter? It seems like they would be much easier. Im starting to stockpile some food, and want to tackle the water issue but just dont know where to start. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. ZoomZoom

ZoomZoom Rookie Prepper

Welcome to the forum!

You can continue to get public water until the towers go dry and/or the pumps stop running. Fill your sinks, tubs... anything that will hold water. With some relatively easy purification it can be used for drinking water.

Here's a couple sources for some good info on purifying.

A) Emergency Disinfection of Drinking Water | Safewater | Water | US EPA

B) There's a decent PDF document at FEMA. Do a google search for FEMA water purification. It should be the first site that appears.

C) For Calcium Hypochlorite, do a google search for same. Here's a site that discusses what I'm referring to. Perma Pak How to make chlorine from pool shock

3. mosquitomountainman

mosquitomountainman I invented the internet. :rofl: