Prepper, Survival, Homesteading Forum > Preparedness & Survival Forums > General Food and Foraging Discussion > Whole oats or rolled oats?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2012, 11:19 PM   #1
vondonna

vondonna is on a distinguished road
Default Whole oats or rolled oats?

I'm new to prepping. I have canned goods (meats, vegetables, fruits), 200 gallons of water and some basic medical items, but I want to start buying bulk grains.

I have found 50lb bags of whole oats and rolled eats, each $15, but I don't know which one I should buy. Can you tell me? And why?

Thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2012, 12:16 AM   #2
lilmissy0740

Liked 275 Times on 147 Posts
Likes Given: 144

lilmissy0740 is on a distinguished road

I buy what we eat and what we will eat. We eat rolled oats and I do grind them for oat flour but not very often. I wont buy something I dont eat. This may not be right to some, you can barter etc, but I feel it is a waste. Just IMHO

Old 03-26-2012, 12:55 AM   #3
AlabamaGal
Moderately Doomish

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

AlabamaGal is on a distinguished road

What is typically sold as "whole oats" is not whole. Humans can't digest the outer coating, so it is removed. That outer hull is what protects the grain from going rancid. You can get whole oats, but generally this will be sold as livestock feed for cheaper than $15, and you will need some way to hull them.

Given the choice between rolled and hulled oats, buy the one you will eat. Either will go rancid in roughly a year (depending on storage conditions.) If you want to buy a grain for long term storage, wheat or its relatives (kamut, spelt, etc.) are the longest lasting, and can last for decades without loss of quality. White rice is another good commodity. Rice, like oats, is dehulled. Brown rice does not keep since it has the bran to go rancid, but white rice has the bran removed so it keeps for a long, long time.

Old 03-26-2012, 01:29 AM   #4