Prepared Society Forum banner

Best vehicle

24K views 72 replies 48 participants last post by  Tribal Warlord Thug 
#1 ·
I have a 2003 Jeep Rubicon. It is well built for trails, rockcrawling and drives well on the road. My worry is that While I am a decent garage mechanic, I cannot and have no clue regarding the repair, etc of the computer control systems.

My thought is that I could sell this and get an older vehicle that runs mechanically (carb/points and all) and renovate to a nearly new status. I want to maintain some 4wd capability, but am getting out of the extreme stuff.

I am thinking and older Jeep CJ, Wagoneer or Cherokee (full size) or an older Chevy blazer or suburban.

Keys being durability, availability of parts, able to run in extreme weather conditions...

Any other thoughts?

John

#3 ·
I love Jeeps, but couldn't consider them kings of the apocalypse cars. Instead, I'd give that title to 80's - early 90's Toyota trucks and 4Runners with sticks and 4-bangers. Granted, I'm talking about stockish vehicles, since if you're building from the ground-up, you can make just about anything into a bastardization of the best parts you can source for whatever purpose you need. But stock, I think the mini trucks are the best compromise between reliability, capability, ubiquity, utility, and size.

Anyway, some justification:
- Tons of them out there, and cheap to stock up on spare parts. Jeeps bring a premium because they're more trendy.
- Lots of parts interchangeability, easy to work on. Many of the drivetrain components are the same or easily adaptable from ~'79-'95. Say you're in some rough driving and strip your ring & pinion; because of the drop-out 3rd-member, once you find a suitable spare, removing and replacing the 3rd is maybe a 4-hour job with simple hand tools. On solid front axle models, the front and rear 3rds are identical.