Prepper, Survival, Homesteading Forum > Homesteading > Gardening and Agriculture > Ideas for Zone 5 fall garden?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2010, 08:30 PM   #1
OldFashionedMama
Partyin' like it's 1699

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

OldFashionedMama is on a distinguished road
Default Ideas for Zone 5 fall garden?

I just tore out my cucumbers. I did 40 quarts of pickles-that's quite enough! The other end still has my green peppers and herbs, but what to do with the empty space? I've never done a fall garden before. What can I plant?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2010, 11:31 PM   #2
Emerald
I sold my soul to the internet

Liked 172 Times on 131 Posts
Likes Given: 213

Emerald is on a distinguished road

Carrots, radishes(mine always do better in the fall), cabbages, any and almost all the lettuces and greens, beets for greens, Swiss chard, broccoli, I have always wanted to try some fall peas, but plant the edible podded ones like snow peas or sugar snaps. Spinach, I have overwintered spinach a few times and while it really doesn't grow much during the late fall and winter that next spring it will just boom! and you will end up with more than you ever thought you could grow. And soon it will be shallot and garlic planting time, so don't forget to save room for them. I have done shallots for a few years off and on and they do well just planted like garlic is in the fall. Have you ever tried kohlrabi? That is another fall crop as is bok choi. I think that there are a few loose leaf cabbages out there somewhere too. I might think of some more. And I live in a zone 5 so I have tried most of these type of plants myself. You would not believe how sweet carrots are when they overwinter in the garden just mulched heavy, you can even pull a few in the winter if it is not frozen really hard yet.